<  

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Middelkerke are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Middelkerke, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Cadzand for the two following months.

November 2018

Saturday 17 November
2:45 hrs
-97 cm
 
8:19 hrs
111 cm
 
15:20 hrs
-129 cm
 
21:13 hrs
127 cm
Sunday 18 November
3:50 hrs
-107 cm
 
9:56 hrs
120 cm
 
16:15 hrs
-139 cm
 
22:36 hrs
152 cm
Monday 19 November
4:45 hrs
-122 cm
 
10:49 hrs
148 cm
 
17:16 hrs
-154 cm
 
23:20 hrs
181 cm
Tuesday 20 November
5:25 hrs
-139 cm
 
11:31 hrs
178 cm
 
17:56 hrs
-170 cm
 
23:58 hrs
209 cm
Wednesday 21 November
6:15 hrs
-156 cm
 
12:11 hrs
206 cm
 
18:35 hrs
-185 cm
Thursday 22 November
0:32 hrs
232 cm
 
6:52 hrs
-172 cm
 
12:48 hrs
230 cm
 
19:16 hrs
-197 cm
Friday 23 November
1:09 hrs
248 cm
 
7:32 hrs
-185 cm
 
13:26 hrs
248 cm
 
19:57 hrs
-205 cm
Saturday 24 November
1:48 hrs
256 cm
 
8:16 hrs
-193 cm
 
14:06 hrs
259 cm
 
20:37 hrs
-207 cm
Sunday 25 November
2:29 hrs
255 cm
 
8:58 hrs
-198 cm
 
14:46 hrs
261 cm
 
21:20 hrs
-202 cm
Monday 26 November
3:10 hrs
245 cm
 
9:46 hrs
-198 cm
 
15:28 hrs
255 cm
 
22:06 hrs
-193 cm
Tuesday 27 November
3:56 hrs
230 cm
 
10:30 hrs
-196 cm
 
16:15 hrs
242 cm
 
22:50 hrs
-181 cm
Wednesday 28 November
4:46 hrs
208 cm
 
11:20 hrs
-190 cm
 
17:06 hrs
220 cm
 
23:40 hrs
-165 cm
Thursday 29 November
5:42 hrs
185 cm
 
12:15 hrs
-181 cm
 
18:16 hrs
197 cm
Friday 30 November
0:35 hrs
-148 cm
 
6:56 hrs
165 cm
 
13:26 hrs
-171 cm
 
19:30 hrs
183 cm

December 2018

Saturday 1 December
1:46 hrs
-133 cm
 
8:06 hrs
154 cm
 
14:30 hrs
-164 cm
 
20:39 hrs
177 cm
Sunday 2 December
3:00 hrs
-127 cm
 
9:16 hrs
153 cm
 
15:43 hrs
-162 cm
 
21:49 hrs
181 cm
Monday 3 December
4:36 hrs
-132 cm
 
10:19 hrs
165 cm
 
17:06 hrs
-172 cm
 
22:55 hrs
195 cm
Tuesday 4 December
5:25 hrs
-147 cm
 
11:16 hrs
184 cm
 
17:55 hrs
-184 cm
 
23:45 hrs
210 cm
Wednesday 5 December
6:15 hrs
-162 cm
 
12:05 hrs
202 cm
 
18:40 hrs
-191 cm
Thursday 6 December
0:32 hrs
221 cm
 
6:58 hrs
-175 cm
 
12:48 hrs
216 cm
 
19:22 hrs
-193 cm
Friday 7 December
1:16 hrs
225 cm
 
7:40 hrs
-184 cm
 
13:29 hrs
226 cm
 
20:00 hrs
-190 cm
Saturday 8 December
1:56 hrs
225 cm
 
8:21 hrs
-190 cm
 
14:09 hrs
230 cm
 
20:36 hrs
-184 cm
Sunday 9 December
2:36 hrs
221 cm
 
8:56 hrs
-191 cm
 
14:45 hrs
229 cm
 
21:12 hrs
-175 cm
Monday 10 December
3:08 hrs
214 cm
 
9:35 hrs
-188 cm
 
15:26 hrs
221 cm
 
21:46 hrs
-163 cm
Tuesday 11 December
3:46 hrs
203 cm
 
10:16 hrs
-181 cm
 
16:05 hrs
209 cm
 
22:26 hrs
-150 cm
Wednesday 12 December
4:21 hrs
191 cm
 
10:50 hrs
-172 cm
 
16:42 hrs
194 cm
 
22:56 hrs
-138 cm
Thursday 13 December
4:59 hrs
177 cm
 
11:26 hrs
-162 cm
 
17:22 hrs
176 cm
 
23:29 hrs
-127 cm
Friday 14 December
5:45 hrs
161 cm
 
11:55 hrs
-152 cm
 
18:16 hrs
158 cm
Saturday 15 December
0:16 hrs
-116 cm
 
6:30 hrs
146 cm
 
12:45 hrs
-143 cm
 
19:16 hrs
145 cm
Sunday 16 December
1:14 hrs
-107 cm
 
7:37 hrs
134 cm
 
14:26 hrs
-139 cm
 
20:16 hrs
141 cm
Monday 17 December
2:56 hrs
-108 cm
 
8:40 hrs
133 cm
 
15:25 hrs
-143 cm
 
21:19 hrs
150 cm
Tuesday 18 December
3:50 hrs
-119 cm
 
9:46 hrs
145 cm
 
16:26 hrs
-152 cm
 
22:25 hrs
170 cm
Wednesday 19 December
4:45 hrs
-134 cm
 
10:48 hrs
169 cm
 
17:09 hrs
-166 cm
 
23:15 hrs
195 cm
Thursday 20 December
5:36 hrs
-151 cm
 
11:35 hrs
197 cm
 
18:00 hrs
-180 cm
Friday 21 December
0:01 hrs
218 cm
 
6:22 hrs
-169 cm
 
12:19 hrs
221 cm
 
18:51 hrs
-192 cm
Saturday 22 December
0:46 hrs
235 cm
 
7:10 hrs
-185 cm
 
13:06 hrs
241 cm
 
19:35 hrs
-200 cm
Sunday 23 December
1:29 hrs
244 cm
 
7:59 hrs
-197 cm
 
13:46 hrs
253 cm
 
20:18 hrs
-203 cm
Monday 24 December
2:13 hrs
246 cm
 
8:46 hrs
-207 cm
 
14:30 hrs
259 cm
 
21:06 hrs
-200 cm
Tuesday 25 December
2:56 hrs
241 cm
 
9:32 hrs
-211 cm
 
15:16 hrs
258 cm
 
21:50 hrs
-194 cm
Wednesday 26 December
3:45 hrs
232 cm
 
10:20 hrs
-213 cm
 
16:03 hrs
248 cm
 
22:36 hrs
-185 cm
Thursday 27 December
4:33 hrs
218 cm
 
11:10 hrs
-210 cm
 
16:56 hrs
232 cm
 
23:26 hrs
-173 cm
Friday 28 December
5:27 hrs
202 cm
 
12:02 hrs
-204 cm
 
17:58 hrs
214 cm
Saturday 29 December
0:18 hrs
-160 cm
 
6:29 hrs
186 cm
 
12:55 hrs
-192 cm
 
19:01 hrs
197 cm
Sunday 30 December
1:16 hrs
-145 cm
 
7:36 hrs
171 cm
 
13:55 hrs
-178 cm
 
20:10 hrs
181 cm
Monday 31 December
2:19 hrs
-134 cm
 
8:40 hrs
161 cm
 
15:04 hrs
-165 cm
 
21:14 hrs
171 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.