<  

Tides | Ebb and flood

Tides

The beaches Middelkerke are never the same width because of the tides. When you are in Middelkerke, you might want to take a walk on the beach. It is very useful to know what the tide is.

You will find the astronomical water level forecast for Cadzand for the two following months.

July 2018

Thursday 19 July
1:05 hrs
-215 cm
 
7:06 hrs
216 cm
 
13:22 hrs
-166 cm
 
19:35 hrs
194 cm
Friday 20 July
1:59 hrs
-201 cm
 
8:05 hrs
196 cm
 
14:15 hrs
-153 cm
 
20:35 hrs
177 cm
Saturday 21 July
2:55 hrs
-183 cm
 
9:16 hrs
176 cm
 
15:26 hrs
-142 cm
 
21:46 hrs
161 cm
Sunday 22 July
4:04 hrs
-166 cm
 
10:28 hrs
163 cm
 
16:45 hrs
-138 cm
 
22:52 hrs
156 cm
Monday 23 July
5:24 hrs
-159 cm
 
11:36 hrs
163 cm
 
18:00 hrs
-145 cm
 
23:58 hrs
163 cm
Tuesday 24 July
6:30 hrs
-161 cm
 
12:31 hrs
173 cm
 
18:56 hrs
-157 cm
Wednesday 25 July
0:56 hrs
175 cm
 
7:15 hrs
-163 cm
 
13:26 hrs
183 cm
 
19:46 hrs
-169 cm
Thursday 26 July
1:46 hrs
188 cm
 
7:55 hrs
-164 cm
 
14:10 hrs
192 cm
 
20:19 hrs
-179 cm
Friday 27 July
2:26 hrs
198 cm
 
8:32 hrs
-165 cm
 
14:45 hrs
198 cm
 
21:00 hrs
-187 cm
Saturday 28 July
2:56 hrs
206 cm
 
9:11 hrs
-166 cm
 
15:15 hrs
204 cm
 
21:36 hrs
-193 cm
Sunday 29 July
3:36 hrs
213 cm
 
9:41 hrs
-168 cm
 
15:47 hrs
209 cm
 
22:16 hrs
-198 cm
Monday 30 July
4:05 hrs
217 cm
 
10:20 hrs
-168 cm
 
16:18 hrs
210 cm
 
22:50 hrs
-200 cm
Tuesday 31 July
4:35 hrs
215 cm
 
10:56 hrs
-164 cm
 
16:55 hrs
206 cm
 
23:26 hrs
-197 cm

August 2018

Wednesday 1 August
5:07 hrs
210 cm
 
11:30 hrs
-160 cm
 
17:26 hrs
200 cm
Thursday 2 August
0:06 hrs
-192 cm
 
5:38 hrs
204 cm
 
12:00 hrs
-156 cm
 
17:55 hrs
195 cm
Friday 3 August
0:29 hrs
-189 cm
 
6:18 hrs
199 cm
 
12:38 hrs
-155 cm
 
18:36 hrs
190 cm
Saturday 4 August
1:10 hrs
-186 cm
 
7:01 hrs
191 cm
 
13:26 hrs
-152 cm
 
19:26 hrs
180 cm
Sunday 5 August
1:55 hrs
-180 cm
 
8:05 hrs
179 cm
 
14:20 hrs
-147 cm
 
20:38 hrs
170 cm
Monday 6 August
3:00 hrs
-172 cm
 
9:20 hrs
173 cm
 
15:24 hrs
-142 cm
 
21:52 hrs
168 cm
Tuesday 7 August
4:15 hrs
-166 cm
 
10:31 hrs
173 cm
 
16:45 hrs
-146 cm
 
22:59 hrs
176 cm
Wednesday 8 August
5:26 hrs
-167 cm
 
11:38 hrs
183 cm
 
18:06 hrs
-159 cm
Thursday 9 August
0:06 hrs
195 cm
 
6:36 hrs
-176 cm
 
12:37 hrs
201 cm
 
19:11 hrs
-179 cm
Friday 10 August
1:01 hrs
220 cm
 
7:36 hrs
-187 cm
 
13:32 hrs
220 cm
 
20:05 hrs
-199 cm
Saturday 11 August
1:52 hrs
242 cm
 
8:26 hrs
-195 cm
 
14:19 hrs
235 cm
 
20:55 hrs
-216 cm
Sunday 12 August
2:38 hrs
258 cm
 
9:10 hrs
-199 cm
 
15:06 hrs
245 cm
 
21:42 hrs
-227 cm
Monday 13 August
3:23 hrs
266 cm
 
9:56 hrs
-197 cm
 
15:49 hrs
249 cm
 
22:26 hrs
-232 cm
Tuesday 14 August
4:08 hrs
266 cm
 
10:37 hrs
-193 cm
 
16:33 hrs
247 cm
 
23:12 hrs
-230 cm
Wednesday 15 August
4:56 hrs
258 cm
 
11:22 hrs
-186 cm
 
17:19 hrs
240 cm
 
23:55 hrs
-222 cm
Thursday 16 August
5:46 hrs
242 cm
 
12:06 hrs
-177 cm
 
18:07 hrs
227 cm
Friday 17 August
0:38 hrs
-209 cm
 
6:32 hrs
221 cm
 
12:50 hrs
-166 cm
 
18:55 hrs
208 cm
Saturday 18 August
1:22 hrs
-191 cm
 
7:28 hrs
195 cm
 
13:35 hrs
-152 cm
 
19:49 hrs
184 cm
Sunday 19 August
2:16 hrs
-168 cm
 
8:26 hrs
166 cm
 
14:45 hrs
-137 cm
 
20:56 hrs
158 cm
Monday 20 August
3:13 hrs
-146 cm
 
9:45 hrs
141 cm
 
15:55 hrs
-127 cm
 
22:15 hrs
141 cm
Tuesday 21 August
4:34 hrs
-133 cm
 
11:06 hrs
136 cm
 
17:14 hrs
-129 cm
 
23:31 hrs
146 cm
Wednesday 22 August
6:06 hrs
-134 cm
 
12:15 hrs
149 cm
 
18:37 hrs
-143 cm
Thursday 23 August
0:38 hrs
164 cm
 
6:49 hrs
-142 cm
 
13:05 hrs
168 cm
 
19:26 hrs
-159 cm
Friday 24 August
1:26 hrs
183 cm
 
7:36 hrs
-149 cm
 
13:45 hrs
184 cm
 
20:01 hrs
-172 cm
Saturday 25 August
2:06 hrs
198 cm
 
8:09 hrs
-155 cm
 
14:21 hrs
197 cm
 
20:40 hrs
-182 cm
Sunday 26 August
2:40 hrs
211 cm
 
8:46 hrs
-161 cm
 
14:56 hrs
208 cm
 
21:16 hrs
-191 cm
Monday 27 August
3:07 hrs
223 cm
 
9:20 hrs
-168 cm
 
15:26 hrs
219 cm
 
21:48 hrs
-200 cm
Tuesday 28 August
3:37 hrs
231 cm
 
9:56 hrs
-172 cm
 
15:52 hrs
226 cm
 
22:25 hrs
-204 cm
Wednesday 29 August
4:07 hrs
233 cm
 
10:30 hrs
-173 cm
 
16:26 hrs
227 cm
 
22:58 hrs
-204 cm
Thursday 30 August
4:39 hrs
230 cm
 
11:06 hrs
-170 cm
 
16:56 hrs
223 cm
 
23:36 hrs
-199 cm
Friday 31 August
5:12 hrs
225 cm
 
11:36 hrs
-166 cm
 
17:29 hrs
220 cm
Getijden

These forecasts apply to average meteorological conditions and are calculated by the Dutch Ministry of Transport. In the two upper tables, the high tide is given in positive centimetres, and the low tide in negative centimetres, relative to NAP (general Dutch level).

Ebb and flow

The phase of retreating water is called ebb. A beach will get bigger during ebb. In the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, mud plates will appear, which makes it possible to go hiking to the islands. At the end of ebb period, the water is at the lowest point: this is called low tide.

The phase of rising water is called flow. A beach will then get smaller, narrower. Big mud plates, like in the Waddenzee or Oosterschelde, will overflow with water during flow. The water level reached at the end of the flow phase is called high tide.

The time between the start of one flow and the start of the next flow is on average 12 hours and 25 minutes.